Cranberry-Beet Ketchup

A few years back, I was craving BBQ ribs, but didn’t have any ketchup on hand. I did, however have fresh tomatoes from a community garden we’d joined that year. I played a bit and came up with a great tomato ketchup recipe. Then I discovered my need to avoid nightshades, so tomatoes were off my plate. After some success with a marinara sauce that used cranberries and beets instead of tomatoes, I thought I’d give ketchup another try.

My kids all pronounced it, “Yum!” and my daughter proclaimed, “It tastes just like real ketchup.” My husband and I can’t quite agree with the latter (beets and cranberries just won’t taste like tomatoes), but the yum was unanimous.

cranberry-beet_ketchupCranberry-Beet Ketchup

¾ c chopped beets (100 g)
1 c cranberries (100 g)
2 T coarsely chopped onion (21 g)
2 c water
⅛ t lemon juice
1 T apple cider vinegar
½ T honey
½ T minced garlic (5 g)
pinch of allspice
⅛ t salt
  1. Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan
  2. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and allow to simmer uncovered, stirring occasionally, until beets are soft, about 90 min
  3. Remove from heat and blend until smooth
Yield 1 c ketchup
The next thing I’m looking forward to making with ketchup is Bacon Meatloaf. The kids’ vote is for hot dogs and french fries. What else should I put on the menu?
2 thoughts on “Cranberry-Beet Ketchup

Leave a Reply

