My Favorite Banana Bread

Growing up, I thought my mother’s banana bread was the best. Even after I was a grown up, I used (and loved) her recipe. As I recall, it called for equal parts mashed bananas and white sugar. Yikes! After I started a low-carb, grain-free diet, one of the first things I tried to recreate was banana bread. My first several attempts were not terribly successful, but I kept at it until I was happy with my almond-based recipe. Then I started baking for my father, who isn’t able to eat nuts. Back to the cutting board I went, determined to perfect a coconut-flour banana bread. And I think I finally have!

banana_breadMy Favorite Banana Bread

¾ c coconut flour (85 g)
1 t cinnamon
1 t baking soda
½ t salt
7 large eggs
⅓ c coconut oil, melted
3 T water
1 T apple cider vinegar
1 t vanilla extract
1 c mashed ripe banana (227 g)

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F
  2. Generously grease a 9×5 loaf pan, or line with parchment
  3. Whisk together coconut flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl
  4. In a separate bowl, beat eggs until frothy and uniform in color
  5. Stir in oil, water, vinegar, and vanilla
  6. Beat egg mixture into flour mixture until smooth
  7. Add mashed banana and mix until thoroughly combined
  8. Pour batter into prepared pan
  9. Bake for 45-50 min until golden brown and springy in the center

Yield 1 loaf of bread

NOTES

  • If you won’t be using the entire loaf in one day, be sure to seal it in an airtight container to keep it from getting dry. If you have forgotten and are left with dry slices, this bread makes a fantastic base for French toast!
  • This recipe also makes great muffins.Simply divide the batter evenly among 12 standard muffin cups (about ¼ c per muffin) and bake for 20-25 min.

How do you like to eat your banana bread?

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

