Strawberry Jam

Technically, this is a “strawberry spread” rather than a jam, as there is no added sugar. But we call it jam anyway. I first tried making a jelly-like substance after reading about recreating a PB&J burger at home on Clothes Make the Girl. It had never occurred to me that I could make PB&J without adding tons of sugar. From the first batch, my kids and I were hooked. Now when I make it, I have to hide the portion we don’t use right away in the back of the fridge or else I find small people hanging out in the kitchen eating it with a spoon!

strawberry_jamStrawberry Jam

2⅓ c fresh or frozen strawberries (340 g)
¼ c water

  1. Put berries and water in a small saucepan over low heat
  2. Stir occasionally until most of the liquid has evaporated and berries have broken down, about 45 min
  3. (optional) Blend until smooth

Yield: ¾ c jam

We like to use this jam for peanut butter sandwiches and to make strawberry cake. What do you like to do with your jam?

One thought on “Strawberry Jam

Leave a Reply

